Community Living Upper Ottawa Valley894 Pembroke Street West
Pembroke, Ontario K8A 5P8
Phone: 613-735-0659
Fax: 613-735-1373

Community Living holds 58th Annual General Meeting & Accreditation Celebration

58th Annual General Meeting of

Community Living Upper Ottawa Valley

Community Living held its 58th Annual General Meeting on Friday September 16th.  Shelley O’Malley, Board Chair and Master of Ceremonies welcomed all in attendance.  The meeting opened with a presentation from the Council on Quality and Leadership (CQL) recognizing Community Living’s recent significant achievement of a 4 Year Person-Centered Excellence Accreditation with Distinction. The award was presented by Gerry Mansveld and Holly Woermke of the Quality Enhancement Committee on behalf of CQL. “This award confirms that Community Living Upper Ottawa Valley shares CQL’s vision for people receiving supports and services,” says Chris Grayson, Executive Director.  This is our third accreditation and each time it has stimulated the organization in striving to provide better supports and education to enhance the lives for the people it supports and the community as a whole.  To see pictures click here

The Business Meeting followed this presentation.  Shelley O’Malley presented her report and the Executive Director Chris Grayson presented his report and addressed the audience recognizing the hard work and dedication that resulted in the organization’s successful Accreditation. To read the Annual General Report click here.  The Guest Speaker this year was Karen Chan, Assistant Deputy Minister of the Community & Developmental Services Division at the Ministry of Community & Social Services (MCSS). Assistant Deputy Minister Chan said repeatedly in her address, when she speaks to other agencies about leading agencies she refers to agencies like ours.  Along with providing Ministry updates and upcoming initiatives, she assisted us to recognize Rick McInnes, Program Supervisor with the Eastern Region of MCSS for his years of dedication and service before his upcoming retirement in November.  Chris Grayson also shared his remarks about Rick’s lengthy and prestigious career with the ministry.

The Executive Award this year was awarded to Dave Marcus.  Dave is a board member with 12 years on the executive including as President, Past President & Treasurer, to read more about Dave see page 15 of the Annual General Report.

After the conclusion of the business meeting, employees celebrating a milestone anniversary year were presented with certificates.  To see pictures click here

5 Year Honorees

Tammy Rosien, Wendy Cayen, Amanda Whittington, Paul Mayfield

10 Year Honoree                             15 Year Honoree

Bonnie Michaud                              Nancy Healey

30 Year Honoree

Bev Robichaud 

Following the meeting and awards, many stayed to celebrate with a party and dance.